Theatre & Films Productions

Freelance Marketing

 

 

marketing

Often I get the question from well-wishers: “Ohh, you do freelance development, but what about your Marketing?”. In fact, ever since, my website was set-up, the Marketing process had already started and is going still strong. And with the UoM Marketing Fundamentals, I am sure, I will metamorphose in a strong Marketer! Let us define the term “Marketing” first…

Marketing deals with identifying and meeting human and social needs, briefly, marketing is “meeting needs profitably”. Marketing Management is the art and science of choosing target markets and getting, keeping and growing customers through creating, delivering and communicating superior customer value. A marketer is someone who seeks a response (attention, a purchase, a vote, a donation) from another party, called the prospect. Marketing managers seek to influence the level, timing and composition of demand to meet the organisation’s objectives.

From a managerial point of view, marketing is the process of planning and executing the conception, pricing, promotion and distribution of ideas, goods and services to create exchanges that satisfy individual and organizational goals. The American Marketing Association (AMA) states, “Marketing is the activity, set of institutions, and processes for creating, communicating, delivering, and exchanging offerings that have value for customers, clients, partners, and society at large.

I am a freelancer who realise the absolute importance of marketing my freelancing services in a strategic, well-planned manner. Financial success often depends on marketing ability. If I weren’t marketing myself/ my business, maybe, my new online identity would be impossible but instead maybe a risky business.

To market myself, I am currently adopting the following methods:

  • Creating a Remarkable Platform on which I can stand strong
  • My platform consists of my website (my backbone), my personality (excellent communication skills, enough technical knowledge, a good sense of timing, self-discipline and most importantly appealing and healthy) and my Management skills which I am currently developing via freelance development

  • Being Always in the shoes of a Marketer
  • I keep on giving my business cards to potential clients after a conversation trying to fit any of my solutions which would satisfy their need.

  • I am keen on learning Web Marketing (Search Engine Optimisation, Adwords/AdSense, DoubleClick, E-Mail, Web Analytics, Conversion rate, goals, unique visitors)

Lastly and most importantly, as I explained to a Web company and another ex-freelancer, I am currently studying at Tertiary level for a 1:1 degree and a Scholarship for a Foreign university. I am a career-oriented person and I want to reach high heights by being a respected professional in the IT industry. My freelance development is primarily to apply the knowledge learnt in the MGT/ ECON/Accounting/Law/ CSE modules and develop skills which would help to mould the shape of a professional from such a young stage. Most importantly I would earn some experience, have a rich portfolio and a five-digit bank balance!

Leave a Reply

