Theatre & Films Productions

L.A.M.P.

 

LAMP

I finally installed Ubuntu 7.10 (which canonical ltd. had posted me) on my Laptop. Ubuntu has a fast installation. The disk manager helped me to configure my partitions- the unformatted one with 40GB set as ext3 and / (root) and the NTFS set as swap space. After the installation, I found the battery meter feature very interesting since details about my laptop’s battery are available. The setup of Evolution main and connect to Server (for FTP transaction) was laudable! Given the Window$’s button on the keyboard is not functional, the new shortcut to display desktop is ctrl + alt + d, run application shortcut is: alt+ F2. The usual command I currently tried is gksudo nautilus. The enable hyperThreading on my laptop still remains to be uncovered as highlighted by: http://www.livingubuntu.com/?p=44 and http://www.livingubuntu.com/?cat=14. Then I was amazed by the Synaptic Package Manager! Under the development section, I selected apache2, mysql-admin (which asked for a root password) and phpmyadmin (which required the root password for login as root@localhost) for installation. Ubuntu Forums also is of great help: I was very happy to witness: Apache/2.2.4 (Ubuntu) PHP/5.2.3-1ubuntu6.3 Server at localhost Port 80 when trying to experiment with the new and real “localhost” on a true LAMP system. After I googled a bit, I found that the install order should had been: Linux … … then Apache httpd … then MySQL … then PHP. as higlighted in welho.net and the installation instructions: Zaphu part 1 Zaphu part 2 The small snag that I had with enable mod_rewrite with apache2 was solved by:

  • using nautilus to copy rewrite.load from mods-available folder in etc/apache2 to mods-enabled folder.
  • In the sites-enabled folder with 000-default, all the AllowOverride None were changed to AllowOverride All.
  • Ubuntu forums

Time to start cracking with real Open Source development now!

2 responses

  1. Hi Ashesh, your blog looks nice 🙂

    Did you really write “the NTFS set as swap space”? If yes, then Linux is going to destroy your NTFS (Windows) partition little by little!!!

    The swap partition should really be a separate partition because it gets overwritten dynamically by the Linux kernel when memory is scarce. I will advise you to create a small 1Gb partition for that purpose. You can slightly resize your main Linux partition using parted to create that space.

    Use the mkswap command to “format” that new swap partition and modify /etc/fstab accordingly.

    Anyway, welcome to the open source world! Have fun discovering the fantastic open source software that you have access to now. And don’t forget to read the writings of Mr Eric Raymond!

    4 February, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    • Indeed Sir,

      Linux made my NTFS partition to disappear.

      In fact this is what I did:
      In the terminal:
      >sudo su
      >apt-get install gparted

      or alternatively/easily used the Synaptic Package Manager to install the utility

      (I also downloaded the LiveCD version of Gparted (around 52MB)

      I resized my HDD2 to 5GB to be allocated as swap space. Then concerning the formatting of the other 35 GB as FAT32, I got the error msg: Kernel Read bla bla bla

      When I restarted in Windows, I was happy to see the unformatted 35GB.

      But why Windows does not recognises the 1 GB swap space and 40GB ext3 partition?

      My next blog post will be on Installing a suitable IDE in order to be able to complete the labsheets.

      5 February, 2008 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

