Theatre & Films Productions

Scheme for Fun!!

Today, Mr. Gavin Sathan took the slot of our “favourite” lecturer Dr. Sonah. Mr. Gavin Sathan is our new lecturer with a good sense of humour having incredible patience to re-explain a concept not too clear in mind. I honestly do not hesitate to ask him questions to clarify my doubts about C++/Programming Concepts.

The first time today, I brought my OS and IDE. I was happy, something new, exciting was going to happen! Geany enabled me to work at an astonishing speed, debugging is easy and I like the tab feature.

In the small lab, as we were downloading the slides for revision: Arrays, Functions and recursion, by utmost co-incidence, Mr. Sathan was in the PC besides me administer his new blog.

Then, having a glance at the screen, I saw a new comment on programming and then the issue of programming in Scheme was raised. I told him that I successfully installed DrScheme and configured it for the Beginning Student Language mode, but sadly, I didn’t know how to proceed with…

Then to my great surprise: “Attan mo large toi ladan”. I was hyper happy!! And this was the first simple program typed in quickly:

(define chk (lambda(a) (+ 3 a)) ) The astonishing elements that I could take note was:

  • the braces () used almost “madly” everywhere, God knows why
  • no ; at the end of each statement(unlike c++)
  • postfix notation
  • functional programming (maybe like Haskell in HSC!)

He then told me about CSE Programming Languages & Algorithms, where there are notes on learning Scheme. Instantly I entered the CSE website and started to study the slides, which were interesting and even funny:

 

PL

 

In Dr.Scheme, I tried running the following program: (define (area-of-circle r) (* 3.14 (* r r))) (define (area-ring r1 r2) (- (area-of-circle r1) (area-of-circle r2))) and it works! but the problem is how to display the results in floating? eg. instead of 314, 314.0.

Mr. Sathan, then proposed me to attend the PL & Algo classes on Friday from 09:00 to 11:00 after which we have Programming Methodology with him. i.e after Scheme, C++. This was a super cool idea!

But the problem that this module is intended for 2nd year CSE students. Will I be allowed to attend this class, if I make an effort to come as early as 09:00 am?

Learning Functional programming was always a mystery for me. I could not understand Haskell as properly as Pascal in HSC.

The main reason for me to have such a keen interest to learn Scheme lies in the following quote: “Learning by experimenting is the best way to learn. Learning programming using Scheme is fun and rewarding as the language is so malleable. A University is not only a place where people go to get a degree. Rather it’s a place where intelligent people (students + academics) meet to share knowledge”

I hope, despite being at first year level, be able to enjoy experimenting with Scheme, if time permits.

2 responses

  1. Sorry to post back a reply so late!!!
    I an not into scheme too much nowadays!!!
    You tried Python???

    By the way, the slide you used reminds me of someone who uses the same color scheme and font color….. would that be Avinash by any chance???
    I think the students find it easier as compared to C++.
    Do try it and let me know
    Gavin SATHAN

    8 June, 2010 at 8:16 am

  2. Hello Gavin!
    Nice to hear from you after nearly (2 years)
    Yes the slides are from Avinash, there’s a link towards his blog post.

    Well, Python, nopes really…
    If i had python programming to a good level, I would had been able to work on python powered CMS running on Google App Engine, since only 2 languages are supported: Python and Java.

    Anyways, I had much fun with C++ and for me it was not difficult to learn programming methodology in this language.

    I wonder whether the CSE dept. is still on Python, reverting back to C++ or worst cancelling the module given high failure rate or something like that….

    8 June, 2010 at 8:59 am

Leave a Reply

