Theatre & Films Productions

New Windows Installation – Jan 2009

New Year – New Windows XP installation implies 😀

Here are the software that I have to install on my laptop which already is living happily with openSUSE 11.1 (dual boot):

Apple:

  1. iTunes
  2. QuickTime
  3. Safari

Google:

  1. Desktop Search (My fav. widgets: Google Calendar Gadget, Intel Performance Power Monitor, Universal Currency Converter, Scratch Pad, Analog Clock,  Google Power Monitor)
  2. Picassa
  3. Earth Pro
  4. Chrome

Adobe:

  1. Photoshop
  2. Acrobat Reader Pro
  3. Dreamweaver
  4. Audition
  5. Flash
  6. Illustrator

Sun:

  1. Netbeans / Eclipse
  2. BlueJ
  3. Java JDK

Microsoft:

  1. Microsoft Office 2003
  2. Visio 2007
  3. Visual Studio 2005
  4. SQL Server 2005 + SQL Server Management Studio
  5. Visual Basic 6.0 Enterprise Edition
  6. MSDN
  7. Encarta Student 2008
  8. Internet Information Services (IIS)
  9. Live Mail, Live Writer
  10. Accounting Express

Utilities:

  1. ObjectDock Plus
  2. DreamAquarium
  3. SharpReader (RSS Aggregator)
  4. Avast Antivirus
  5. Mozilla Firebox (with my fav addons: del.icio.us, fireFTP, FlagFox, AdblockPlus, StumbleUpon)
  6. Winzip/ Winrar
  7. FoxIT Reader
  8. PostGreSQL
  9. USB Safely Remove
  10. Flash Decompiler Trilix
  11. CuteFTP Professional
  12. Cyberlink PowerDVD 8
  13. Notepad++
  14. Mio Toolbox
  15. SwishMax
  16. MagicISO
  17. RescueTime
  18. Flickr Uploader
  19. Camtasia Studio 5
  20. FlashGet
  21. BitTorrent
  22. DivX player
  23. RealAlternative
  24. SecondLife
  25. Last.fm Scrobbler
  26. WireShark
  27. PacketTracer
  28. Tortoise CVS
  29. WinPatrol
  30. Xara 3D
  31. Nero

Software To explore:

VLC

Blender

Freemind

From Open Source

From Microsoft

6 responses

  1. Why not Office 07?

    You might try KMPlayer as an alternative to VLC for watching movies. 🙂

    8 January, 2009 at 10:15 am

    • Office 2007 -> because it makes me less productive-> I am not used to the new interface (ribbon) and still in the old age of using toolbars 😀

      ahh ok, will give it a try.

      please do not hesitate to suggest any more cool software /utility/ development tool on Windows !

      Cheers, I am doing my backup and then will start fdisking!

      8 January, 2009 at 10:23 am

  2. NikhiL

    hey btw u used all the programs u mentioned above? i hope ur harddisk to capacity super big.

    hey u can used these utilities also :-
    1) speedfan – to chek temperatures(proc, gpu, chassis, etc)
    2) cpu-z – giv u every details abt ur cpu

    aler bonne chance ek to installation!!!

    10 January, 2009 at 10:26 pm

  3. Hi Nikhil.
    Welcome to my blog! its very encouraging to have your Nerd classmate commenting on Geek/ Nerd Stuff! 😀

    ahh okie speedfan and cpu-z

    actually i don’t know much about how this information would help me but thanks for the tip.

    ya, the installation, having some problems with my different copies of pirated windows xp (service pack problems and compatibility with my laptop). I prefer openSUSE, but again the problem, the abode, apple software do not run on this linux distribution.
    I though the MS simulator (Wine) would do the job on linux, but snif snif 😦

    10 January, 2009 at 10:44 pm

  4. NikhiL

    yea i agree, u’ll b missing them very much wen using linux!!!
    Speedfan is an important utility, u’ll b able to know wen ur laptop is heating very much etc!!!
    Enfin i use these utilities very often for analysing my system.
    Like recently, i have just assemble my new pc:- Intel Core2duo 2.66, 2GB RAM…… and guess wat? wen i switch on pc, asus probe told me that my cpu temp is 15 degree. can u believe this? dan ene grand chaleur cumsa, li gagn pou dir moi ki mo processor so temperature 15 degree, pa possible sa! for any proc to b at least 15 degree, u must use a very sophisticated cooling system. but moi (poor little me) mo p servi heatsink n fan cki intel ine provide me. And u’ll agree that new pc systems use Q-fan, i.e, its regulate the speed of the cpu fan according to cpu temp. so with 15 degrees, my cpu fan ti p run at 980 rpm, mari doucement. then mne use speedfan, mne analysed both cores of the cpu.

    then me ine flash bois, everything went ok!!!

    see, speedfan helped me a lot!!!! lol

    10 January, 2009 at 10:55 pm

  5. ta ey to know flash BIOS tu!! one fine day u explain to me how to flash a bioss – which is a dangerous task! I hope u demonstrate me on a pc, if possible.

    ok thanks for the tip: speedfan. will install it and get with u with the feedback.

    cheers

    11 January, 2009 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

