Theatre & Films Productions

Philosophy

We have a new category in my blog: Philosophy!

I went to the first conference yesterday  (despite the heavy raining at Port-Louis) for the Universite Populaire.The conference was being animated by Joseph Cardella whom we had the opportunity to meet at the second edition of barcamp. Actually I remember Joseph coming whilst I was doing my presentation (I was in the mid-way of the presentation) and our friend Pierre explaining to Joseph the what’s going in barcamp and a bit about my presentation. This day Joseph was talking on:

4ème conférence-débat : Etre ou ne pas être ? – Parménide. Vend. 16/01

Euhh, at first sight, my I received my Google reminder on my mobile, I knew I had to rush at the Port Louis Municipality, but the theme of the conference was totally in Greek for me!

I entered the Municipality Hall and Waow, it was so beautiful. The light composition in the hall was great. The furniture – first class. It was cool. There were people listening carefully to Joseph and noting down important sayings.

As far as I was concerned, I preferred to not jot down, but try to understand the topic first. To be honest, I was impressed by Joseph. He was talking about complicated things which the Philosopher wrote in his poem.

Due to the complexity, I was getting bored a bit. But Joseph finished at 06:45, leaving 40 minutes for discussion. That would be fun! and it really was – because the discussion were of high level. The question I asked was about : “How about patients who suffer from Schizophrenia?“. Rating this question as Excellent (:D), the hall pondered upon it for at least 8 minutes.

At the end, I thanked Joseph for the very interesting lecture and nice to know he still remembered me (my name at least, though being pronounced with the French accent).

Aller, parlons un peu de philosophie:

Parmenides of Elea (Greek: Παρμενίδης ὁ Ἐλεάτης, early 5th century BCE) was an ancient Greek philosopher born in Elea, a Greek city on the southern coast of Italy. He was the founder of the Eleatic school of philosophy. The single known work of Parmenides is a poem which has survived only in fragmentary form. In this poem, Parmenides describes two views of reality. In The Way of Truth (a part of the poem), he explains how reality is one, change is impossible, and existence is timeless, uniform, and unchanging. In The Way of Opinion, he explains the world of appearances, which is false and deceitful. These thoughts strongly influenced Plato, and through him, the whole of western philosophy.

Parmenides stated that there are two ways of inquiry: that it is, that it is not.[11] He said that the latter argument is never feasible because nothing can not be:

For never shall this prevail, that things that are not are. (B 7.1)

There are extremely delicate issues here. In the original Greek the two ways are simply named “that Is” (όπως εστίν) and “that Not-Is” (ως ουκ εστίν) (B 2.3 and 2.5) without the “it” inserted in our English translation.

Premises:

a. A thing can be thought about only if it is possible for it to exist. [= step (4) above]b. Anything that does not exist, cannot exist. [= step (5) above]

But (b) is equivalent to:

c. Anything that can exist, does exist.

From (a) and (c) it follows that:

d. A thing can be thought about only if it exists.

And (d) is equivalent to:

e. Anything that does not exist, cannot be thought about. [= (3) above]

In symbols:

Tx: x is thought about
Ex: x exists
It is possible that: it is possible that …

a. x (It is possible thatTx ® It is possible thatEx) Premise
b. xEx ® ¬It is possible thatEx) Premise
c. x (It is possible thatEx ® Ex) From (b) by contraposition
d. x (It is possible thatTx ® Ex) From (a) and (c) by hypothetical syllogism
e. xEx ® ¬It is possible thatTx) From (d) by contraposition
Leave a Reply

