Theatre & Films Productions

Sandwich and Olive Salad

Sandwich students have to apply for a company of their choice in order to undergo the practical training. Personally, I maintained a list of companies and the contact persons with whom I can send the application:

Dear Sir/ Madam,I am a second year student studying Management with Information Systems at the University of Mauritius. As part of the course, I have to pursue a 6 months practical training in a company.

As part of the practical training, I would like the seize the opportunity to tackle business challenges by applying the learnt concepts from Academia. I aspire to get a real experience of the work environment to broaden my thinking as well as enhance my professional development.

I enclose a Curriculum Vitae and a reference from the Head of Department of Management of the Faculty of Law and Management. I am enthusiastic to enhance my professional development during the internship period and would like to be given the opportunity for challenging assignments.

Best wishes and kind regards,

Ashesh Ramjeeawon

My personal advice is to use an email address drafted professionally and avoid email addresses like sweetangel@host.com (My Research Method. lecturer says so). The objective is to have a first impression which will permit you to create interest for the HR executive to forward your mail for departments for processing and match their database for available placement opportunities.

Interestingly, for most of the companies we do not get replies. Excitingly, for interested companies, they get back to us. So was my case and today ended with two opportunities for me to eat sandwich and olive salad!

Amongst the questions that was asked:

  • Which type of person are you?
  • Why should the company take you as intern/ What can you contribute to the company?
  • Do you have any planning during the intern period?
  • What do you know about the company?

It was nice interactive sessions with Finance Manager, CEO and Managing Director. The way they talk, they mean business. I am happy because owing to the module human resources management, I was able to talk in the appropriate human resources mgt jargon. Its definitely true from the Last lecture which the lecturer said: “I am happy because now you are someone who is able to think and talk. You are not someone who has learnt the ‘bookish’ style of advantages and disadvantages”

Currently I have to choose between the company offers which I admit, is a bit difficult.

The first one will development my practical experience in the telecommunications industry. My CCNA and Freelance experience cummulate to empower me to deliver my best during the intern at Company 1. Interestingly, I always wanted to go to hotels and work there and given the opportunity for going at clients’ site (5 – star hotels), waow, mesmerising. In brief, the conversation was to the professional level. They nearly convinced me to ‘serve’ them despite there’s much to travel (of which I am fed up!).

The second company, unexpectedly, is something that all intern students should be getting! I have the golden offer of working under a Consultant for a very interesting project involving the advancement of the organisation. During the explanation of the project objectives, I was simply stunned, dumbfounded. I did not even think that such unique opportunity would knock at the door. As explained by the Managing Director, the task is a challenging one, the key is to use one’s best intellectual ability and business acumen, delivering state-of-the-art business reports supported by recommendations. Excellent- you get to learn about the organisation as a whole!

So here we are with the Sandwich and salad part. Now we have to wait to see the offer of the biggest competitor in the Telecommunications industy in Mauritius. What better can you propose you, ein?

3 responses

  1. Good for you! 😉

    Btw, did you mention your blog in your CV? That would be a great asset. 🙂

    30 April, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    • Of course! No doubt on this. The link is on my online presence section, and under the hobbies part, I updated it to put Blogging as hobby. And the feedback that I got today is: “Interessants, vos hobbies” 😀

      30 April, 2009 at 5:28 pm

  2. Pingback: Orange Juice, finally « :: Ashesh Ramjeeawon – Blog ::

Leave a Reply

