Theatre & Films Productions

Are you a Twitter Followable person?

The fun of having followers on Twitter is that they post tweets which are of interest to you. Much people who are not “Twitter-aware” yet argue that Twitter is a bad stuff where you “veille zafer lot dimoune!” The counter-argument which I would put forward is that: Twitter is a micro-blogging platform which updates information in Real-Time. The fun of reading tweets and re-tweeting them is when you find “followable” twitterers.

So who is a followable person? You, Me, Barack Obama?

Here is an excerpt from Robert Scoble’s post after he UnFollowed more than 100,000 people on Twitter:

How about “what makes a ‘followable’ person?” Now that’s better.

I’ve found several things.

1. I’m more likely to follow you if you have a well targeted Twitter profile. If you say “fun guy,” sorry, no. But if you say “engineer at Yahoo working on Flickr.” Well, then, I’ll be much more likely to follow you. Now, take it out of geek ville. Let’s say I was looking for quilters to follow. Well, then, I’ll be biased toward people who identify what kind of quilting they do.

Follow me: I am junior Web 2.0 Programmer working for a startup company!

2. No picture, no follow. For a brand like BestBuy you better have a logo. Out of 1,600 follows I’ve done this week I’ve only broken that rule a few times and even when I broke this rule it made me think very long and hard about whether following them is worth it.

Follow me: Dr. House Picture! πŸ˜€

3. I bias toward following people who DO things in real life. Entrepreneurs. Politicians. Actors. VCs. My list, which you can check yourself, is biased heavily toward people who’ve made something of themselves.


Follow me: I do speak Management jargon in the shoes of a Geek!

4. If tons of the people I trust (you know I trust them, because I’ve followed them) recommend you, I’ll add you too. So, repetition is important.


Follow me:
#followfriday @judahsmith @carrotmadman6 @kurtavish @asheshr @sjdvda @Morinn @NRamjee @kissmyattitude @yashvin @alomoris @blebon

5. I look at who YOU follow. Do you follow lots of other geeks and people I like to follow? Then you’re more likely to get me to follow you too.

Follow me:I have a list of updated M’tian geeks and top programmers in the Geekosphere!

6. If someone smart keeps retweeting you (like how Dave Winer keeps talking about Jay Rosen) then I’ll follow you too.

Follow me:
yashvinThumbs up for the image used πŸ˜› RT @asheshr Managing Humans…: […] http://bit.ly/Fp9h0 (Bhai yashvin is an intelligent guy! :D)

    7. If you’re a news maker. Hey, I follow Barack Obama. Why? Well, he makes news. Among other things. Same reason why I follow TechCrunch.

Follow me:
UniverseOneRT @asheshr I wanna say “vas te faire fouttre” @http://online.uom.ac.mu/. ive neva seen such a crapy systm eva which dsrvs a bullshit awad!

    8. If you’re powerful, I’ll follow you. I follow both powerful bloggers like Ariana Huffington as well as powerful VCs like Jeff Clavier and powerful executives like Marc Benioff. They probably all will laugh that I called them powerful, but they are.

Follow me:
kissmyattitude@asheshr I was just reading your blog on wordpress. Interesting posts. I love your layout too! Keep it up. πŸ™‚

    9. Do you have a brand I like? I notice that I’m adding more and more brands I like like Zoho and Evernote and others. But if they abuse that position I’ll unfollow them first.


Follow me: Euhh,.. ashesh r is a perso brand just like Steve Jobs is one! lol

    10. I look at your last 20 tweets. If you are just talking about your lunch, I probably won’t follow you. But if you’re talking about a project you’re working on and it sounds interesting I’ll follow you.


Follow me: My recent project: exploring Windows 7 and reviewing it

    11. If I’ve met you face-to-face I’m much more likely to follow you. In fact I’ve scanned all my business cards in, thanks to Cloud Contact’s great service, and I’m now matching those up their Twitter accounts and adding them too.


Follow me: Ben, you can always meet me on the Reduit Campus!

So are you a Twitter followable person?

(NB: This is my first blog post from Windows 7 Ultimate (Evaluation Copy) and Office 2007 (Trial))

8 responses

  1. Yea, follow me – @carrotmadman6

    Hmmm, btw if you’re using Office 2007 to post this, try Windows Live Writer. πŸ˜‰

    6 August, 2009 at 10:45 am

    • ahh carrotmadman6 is a recommended Twitter-Followable Person!

      euhh non carrot, have already tried Windows Live writer. have to get used to using Word 2007 to post blog articles since have to train editors at work to publish from Word instead of doing a dirty copy/paste in the articles which subsequently introduces Dirty Code < p class = "mso-style" ….

      6 August, 2009 at 10:55 am

  2. (Bhai @yashvin is an intelligent guy! πŸ˜€ )

    lol, Thanks.
    Since some weeks, I am no more the bot you used to know, isn’t it people?

    6 August, 2009 at 11:14 am

  3. Sun

    Follow me… @__sun__ uh… I tweet.. uhh… sozz… and.. uhh… hmm…

    6 August, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    • ala sozzzzzzzzzzzzz!!
      we don’t know why he used underscores in this twitter name, but still he tweets are tweetable!

      6 August, 2009 at 12:42 pm

  4. Sun

    I used underscored.. because obviously, @sun wasnt available.. so wasnt @_sun_, so, double underscore was the solution..! πŸ˜›

    6 August, 2009 at 1:15 pm

  5. (NB: This is my first blog post from Windows 7 Ultimate (Evaluation Copy) and Office 2007 (Trial))

    As soon as I saw that, I had to come here and comment. Please remove this virus/malware from your PC and install a real OS: Fedora 11.

    6 August, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    • am rather willing to install the latest version of Ubuntu for a dual boot. But Fedora 11 seems also crunching! thanks, will give it a try.
      Not for now. Because currently, Windows 7 rocks!

      6 August, 2009 at 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

