Theatre & Films Productions

School Days!

Mahatma Gandhi Institute Secondary College

Ha! School days! I feel a bit emotional writing this blog post 😛 …enfin…let’s start

Doing a follow up of  “A Website for each Mauritian School“, yesterday night we had a meeting with one of the best rectors in the island. It was a great pleasant surprise for me to be able to meet that person who I respect so much and is amongst one of the best, best, bestest english teacher I have ever known, after so many years.

The meeting was mainly about the eLearning platform which would permit students of the school to download their homework. I was pleasantly amazed by their fast comprehension of the utility of the system!

Then at the dinner, we had very nice discussions about School days! I expressed my pleasant surprise and warmest congratulations to the rector given that the school had an amazing performance: 3 after – laureates on the first batch of HSC students competing for State Scholarships.

My questions (out of curiousity 🙂 ) were about the administration style of the school, the school infrastracture (notably Library and internet connection) and what about extra-curricular activities of the school? I was pleasantly surprised by the dynamic being of the rector, open-minded and “putting students first!“. That’s the spirit!

Being the webdesigner of mgicollege.com team (I have done mainly the flash part 😉 ), it was another great pleasure for me to offer my Web skills to the prestigious institution of the island. Mgicollege.com was the era of Web 1.0. Today we have moved towards a new evolved form of the web: Web 2.0 – where focus is on easy creation and sharing of content via media like blogging, tweeting, facebooking, youtubing etc. With this state of mind, I proposed training sessions to both staff and students on Web 2.0.

I would like to end this blog post by the memorable quote that Sir rector told me yesterday as we were discussing about teachers and their style of teaching (as it is not necessary that college students appreciate all teachers):

Ou kapav kombien tire manzer pou zeleve, mais so dignité, zamais ou pas touché!

I 100% agree with this quote. Students (so do I) always have a grudge against teachers who have hurt them and had no respect for students.

7 responses

  1. Have a look at this one, and at its footer 😛
    http://www.pailles-sss.com/

    Seems that they will be starting to use it soon, finally!

    26 August, 2009 at 1:47 pm

  2. weps saw that earlier. fodait gagne time pu al corriger!

    26 August, 2009 at 2:43 pm

  3. here is the right link : http://www.pailles-sss.com/blog/

    26 August, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    • okie dokie. a .edu is better for secondary schools I think….

      26 August, 2009 at 2:45 pm

  4. To pane faire oken comments about the site and features 😛

    how is it?

    26 August, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    • I appreciate the great flash quality of the designer of legend boats.

      Sinon Pailles SSS can be improved by implementing an eLearning system and by giving appropriate IT literacy and encourage to use this system.

      I like the flash banner, c nickel quoi!

      26 August, 2009 at 2:55 pm

Leave a Reply

